Sugar detox, day 6

Monday.  I survived the weekend.  Last night was the best night of sleep I think I have ever had in my life.  I went to bed at 9:30, woke up never, and then woke up to my alarm at 5am.  That NEVER happens.  I always wake up throughout the night whether it be because of kids crying out or a baby or just myself being super hot.  It’s always something so you can imagine my surprise when my alarm was going off and I thought I had set it for 1am.

Breakfast

I went for a fasted run (had coffee) on my treadmill for 5 miles.  I really wanted to take a break but opted to run because I had a feeling I wouldn’t be running the following day.  For breakfast I made myself eggwhites with turkey, 2 slices of sugar free toast, and 1/2 an avocado.  I was really itching to try something “sweet” so I also had a few bites of Campbell’s oatmeal.  It was made with almond milk, a 1/2 a banana, oats and walnuts.

Midmorning snack

I wasn’t hungry but dang that sweet tooth.  I ate one of my truffles from baking yesterday and a 1/2  a banana muffin that I also made yesterday.

Lunch

I packed lunches for the kids for the pool and almost didn’t pack anything for me which I new would end poorly so I packed a lunch too.  I had 2 spiraled zucchini with sugar free marinara sauce and a chicken sausage from the other night.  I was satisfied but new that I would be eating something else when I got home.

Mid-afternoon Snack

And eat I did.  Guys, this was just a bad day for me.  I wanted nothing but sweets.  I just couldn’t get my mind off of them and it was a hard day.  Nothing I ate satisfied that sweet tooth or the urge to just go get that ice cream out of the deep freezer.  When we got home the kids wanted some snacks so I also had some stuff.  I had some strawberries and while sweet didn’t take the edge off.  I also gave the kids some truffles which they both tried and then left on the table so I had a few bites of those too.  I also had a few slices of frozen banana with almond butter.  I still wasn’t satisfied so I had a few macadamia nuts then I remembered a great smoothie recipe that tastes like a Wendy’s frosty that I used to make a lot.  So I made that and was finally satisfied.  It’s made with a banana, 2T of cocoa powder, 2t of vanilla extract and about 1.5 cups of unsweetened almond milk.  Add ice and blend and you have yourself an amazing sweet milk shake type beverage for less than 200 calories.  Genius.  I will be making this more often starting off rather than finishing my “binges” (if that’s even what you call this).  Emmett also asked for a snack so I made him some chocolate “pudding”.  While looking for dinner recipes I came across a sugar free version of pudding and immediately knew I had to make it.  It was 4 bananas with 4T cocoa powder.  Throw that in a food processor and bam!  Pudding!  I also threw in about 4T of chia seeds for added nutrition which I won’t be doing again.  I thought the pudding tasted great prior to the chia seeds and didn’t think the chia seeds would change it all that much but they did.  Now we have a ton of this pudding stuff in our refrigerator waiting to be thrown away.

Dinner

This dinner was so random but so delicious.  I made 91% lean grass fed burgers, roasted sweet potatoes in coconut oil, grilled zucchini in olive oil, minced garlic and salt and pepper, this sesame ginger carrot salad and avocado slices to go on top of our burger patties.  I wasn’t starving for this dinner but I ate every last bite anyways.  All the flavors came together beautifully and I was happy with the end result.  We didn’t have any leftovers. The sugar monster was also alive and well and all I could think about was dessert and what in the world I was going to fill that void with.  We went on a walk and I thought that would help but it didn’t.

After dinner snack

I almost lost it here guys.  The kids were all in bed by 8pm and this is the time I want to be “bad”.  Us parents are so good all day long and have to put our best foots forward.  This is like my one vice.  Sugar.  I love to put the kids down and then just go nuts on the sweet stuff.  Tonight was proving to be extra challenging for some reason and my will power was seriously waning.  So I grabbed a small amount of 85% dark chocolate which is quite a bit sweeter than the 90% if you could imagine and ate that super slowly.  It did sort of do the trick because I didn’t want very much.  That’s the point I guess.  But when I put it away I just wanted that ice cream in the deep freezer.  Chad suggested I made some sort of “dessert” with his casein cake batter flavor protein powder.  I really think this totally defeats the purpose and plus all that stuff is is chemicals and fake sugar.  I don’t eat fake sugar anymore and have completely given it up with the exception of a diet coke every now and then but I was dying.  I needed something.  So I experimented and made my own version of “cake” with this stuff.  The good news is that all the experimenting took time and by the time I was done it was bedtime.  The bad news is that it all pretty much tasted like shit.  It wasn’t what I wanted at all and because I didn’t follow a recipe it was a total flop.  HOWEVER, this all prevented me from reaching for the real stuff that keeps me up and makes me feel like shit so I suppose Chad gets a point here.

Notes on today

*Today was by far the most challenging day I have had.  I don’t know what sparked the ugly sugar monster but today was tough for me.

*I was totally rested and again, no slumps what so ever.  I was low on energy though.  My body just felt tired.  While I was never sleepy I just felt off.  My run even suffered.  I barely could get through miles and I pushed to get those 5 miles in.  I should have listened to my body and taken a break.

*I had horrible horrible heartburn after I ate dinner.  I really didn’t feel it until we got home from our walk.  It was awful.  I was trying to think about what would have caused this and I still have no idea.  All I can come up with is that I overate and this was a natural reaction to that and not from what I ate.

*I went to bed a little after 9:30 and fell asleep immediately but woke up with terrible heartburn.  I actually went to bed with terrible heartburn too.   I’m still trying to figure this out.

*The good news about today is that I don’t have the sugar cravings anymore after waking up to day 7 (I write these posts the morning after).  I don’t feel gross but I want to avoid what happened last night because I have my motivation back.  I don’t want to feel that way going to bed and I certainly don’t want to wake up with heartburn in the middle of the night anymore.  I can only attribute this to just going off the wagon a bit by eating too much fruit in the afternoon and eating fake sugars before bed which are known to cause gas, bloating and indigestion.

Leave a comment