Sugar detox, day 8

I seriously can’t believe I have gone this long without any processed sugar.  Heck, I can’t believe I have gone this long without baking chocolate chip cookies or some sort of paleo treat with maple syrup or honey either!  It’s crazy to me and I am still feeling better than ever.  Today is my true test because I got very little sleep last night.  So today is Wednesday.  I’m going to be honest about today.  I woke up in a really bad mood and very tired and didn’t get my usual morning to myself because I slept with Emmett and then Campbell and then my own bed (guest room bed) and then Emmett all night last night.  It was horrible and I was thinking I’d just sleep in but Emmett woke up seeing that I wasn’t in his room at 5:30am and freaked out and so I got up a little later than normal but with Emmett.  Aubrey and Chad actually beat us downstairs so there was no “me” time to help me prepare for the day.  I did get to go on a 7 mile run which always helps and I went outside and by myself so that helped but as I write this it’s 10:21am and I’m tired and grumpy and want to be sleeping right now and don’t want to do the mom thing today at all because I’m moody and have no energy and hot.  It’s so damn hot.  I’m so over summer I could cry.  I just wish it would cool off for a few days.  I hate sunscreen and sweating and pants when it’s hot and sweaty armpits all the time and sunburns.  I forgot to mention that on Monday I even tried to take my kids to our rec. center’s indoor pool and as we drove up in the parking lot there was a sign that said “Pool closed until further notice”.  Seriously!?  We ended up going to our outdoor pool which was too crowded and I had to deal with all the things I’m hating right now.  Anyways, rant over.  Let’s get to the bulk of the day.

Breakfast

I ran 7 miles after drinking my black coffee.  I came home and was starving and myself some chopped up red peppers with egg whites and a chopped chicken apple sausage.  This breakfast hit the spot  and was great.  I also had more black coffee in hopes that it would bring my mood up.  It did not.

Mid morning Snack

Some sugar snap peas while making our lunches and an iced coffee with unsweetened almond milk from home while driving to our morning activity.

Lunch

I made lunch to go because we went to the Art museum today.  I made myself riced cauliflower, 1/2 an avocado, ground up turkey and topped with salsa.  I thought this was going to be way better than it actually was.  It most definitely tasted very much like cauliflower and nothing else.  It was pretty gross but I was hungry and it’s all I brought for myself so I ate it.  I think it lacked seasoning from the meat.  I have made this in the past and it’s actually been really good and the flavor of the cauliflower has been completely masked.  I think it’s because I didn’t season the ground turkey.  I think for tomorrow nights dinner I will make some ground beef with taco seasoning to have on hand and see if that helps this situation out.  It was super filling though so that’s definitely a win.

Mid afternoon snack

I almost got through the afternoon without this.  I wasn’t hungry at all and had I not been home I could have easily waited to eat until dinner.  Annoying.  I had 2 squares of 85% dark chocolate and I thought that would be enough but I was feeling super super snacky.  I made myself some unsweetened almond milk with cinnamon and vanilla extract and it was actually really really good.  I think it would be great as a blended drink too.  After that I had 2 bites of a kids leftover banana muffin (recipe from the other day) and a 1/2 a pecan pie larabar then I made the kids dinner to keep myself occupied.

Dinner

I had a sugar free whole wheat, low carb tortilla with colby jack cheese and a smoothie made with unsweetened almond milk, 2T cocoa, vanilla extract and a banana all over ice and blended.  I topped this with a handful of cacao nibs and oh my word it was SO GOOD.  It felt like I was eating ice cream because I ate it with a spoon.  I could TOTALLY do whole 30 with this creation.  I mentioned it before in a different post but adding the cacao nibs just puts an entirely new spin on it.  I had this because we were getting ready to go to an ice cream social at C’s preschool and I wanted to try very hard to resist the temptation.  I told Chad that if the ice cream happened to be from a local ice cream store then I’d have some but other than that it really wouldn’t be worth it.  And guess what…It was from Nuggs, a local ice cream store and guess what?  I didn’t even want any of it!

A weird thing is that I was having heartburn for the majority of the evening.  It sucked and I’m still trying to figure out why and what caused this.

After dinner snack

I was this close to skipping this.  I should have gone to bed but I was watching Bachelor in Paradise and old habits die hard.  It’s so annoying because I really really really didn’t want to give in but I actually was hungry once the show ended.  We ate at 4:45pm last night (wtf!?) and so it was no wonder that by 9:15pm my stomach was growling.  I’m a huge proponent though of eating when you’re hungry so I had about 4 or 5 mini tangerines and a string cheese and iced tea and put myself to bed.  No sweet treat type things!  I was in bed by 9:30pm.

Notes on today:

*Today was hard but I’m glad I had the motivation I did because it could have easily turned into a very bad day considering I was so tired and moody and when those two things are combined I usually reach for the good stuff aka processed sugars.

*So I weighed myself today because I was scared that I was the only person on the face of this planet who gave up eating processed sugars and gained weight and low and behold it was TRUE!  This totally could have contributed to my bad mood.  Never ever ever weigh yourself if you’re already in a bad spot.  Why do I do this to myself!?  Well for starters I thought I’d be pleasantly surprised and either stayed the same weight or dropped a pound.  Now let me remind you I did not do this to lose weight.  I actually wanted to reap the health benefits and just figured weight loss could be a side effect of it all but I most certainly didn’t want to gain weight!  I really like the weight I’m at and am really happy with my body so weight loss or gain isn’t something I’m at all interested in but CLEARLY I need to scale back on all the non processed snacks I’m eating throughout the day.  I’m glad I weighed myself because it made me be honest with myself.  I’m eating way too many replacement foods when I’m not hungry and those are out of habit.  I’m eating a ton more nuts and a ton more high calorie nutrient dense foods to replace the sugar that I was once eating and while I do feel a TON better I am also putting on a few pounds in the process.  The idea isn’t to replace this stuff but to eliminate it all together so I’m going to work hard on just getting rid of it rather than replacing it and I’m going to listen to my hunger signals more often instead of eating out of habit.  I need more water and less food.  I definitely don’t want to throw in the towel and go back to eating how I was eating because I feel like a new person now but it’s hard to look at my old diet of all the sugar and happiness (aside from being low on energy and tired all the time) and not want to go back to eating like that to get my 3 pounds off.  Who would have thought!?  I found a way of eating in the past that works for me calorically so it will just be hard to find a new way I guess.

Leave a Reply

