Sugar detox, day 4

Day 4 was Saturday.  Oh the weekend.  We all make excuses for weekend treats but because I had been feeling so so so amazing the weekend didn’t scare me.  I think I consumed more food than normal but stuck with my guns pretty well…

Breakfast

I ran 6 miles on my treadmill before eating today.  Because I enjoyed what I for breakfast so much the previous day I went ahead and ate the same thing again today.  I had 2 eggs overeasy, 2 pieces of 50 calorie toast and 1/2 an avocado.  I also had trail mix while preparing my breakfast.

Midmorning Snack

Didn’t need one!  I ate my breakfast and didn’t even think about food after that!  I did have copious amounts of black coffee though.

Lunch

I packed a lunch for the pool.  I made broccoli with meatballs and sugar free marinara sauce and sprinkled some parmesan cheese on top.  I also had some mixed nuts and dried mango slices.

Dinner

My husband and I went out to eat.  We first took a walk and then decided on Italian.  I had already decided that I was going to just get what I was in the mood for but when we sat down and ordered I decided that a huge pasta bowl just wasn’t sounding that great.  I ordered a grilled polenta dish with spicy sauce and Italian sausage.  It was to die for.  The waitress also promised us a bread basket but it never came which I’m so thankful for!  I would have definitely had some bread and you know it would have been the white sugary stuff no one should be eating.  I did order a 1/2 pint of beer and it was perfect.  It was so tiny and just what I wanted, a few sips and I was done.  I didn’t feel wasteful but I also really wanted a taste of beer.  I wish more restaurants offered this size.   It was a craft beer and so incredible.

After dinner snack

I wanted ice cream so badly after our meal.  We were right next to a mom and pop type ice cream place that has the best home made ice cream.  But Chad said he wasn’t going to get any and I promised myself that if I was going to have sugar it would have to be for a special occasion or when doing something social.  Tonight didn’t fit the bill for either of those and I’m SO glad he “saved” me from myself.  I went home and had my banana “ice cream” with cacoa nibs and that was just as fulfilling.

Some notes about today:

*I am so proud of myself for not caving and eating that ice cream.  Although, even if I had, ice cream does have some protein in it.  I’m not justifying this but if I’m going to chose a treat than I do think full fat ice cream is a good one to consume.  It has less sugar than frozen yogurt and is much more satisfying because of the fat content so I tend to feel be much more fulfilled after eating full fat ice cream than I do eating frozen yogurt.

*I left the restaurant feeling totally amazing.  I wasn’t full and bloated like every other time I have ever left a restaurant.  I didn’t overeat and I didn’t have indigestion.

*I went to bed at 9:30 and woke up a few times throughout the night because of the kids but felt fine all day long and made it all the way through bedtime with zero feelings of being “over it”

*I feel like I’m a nicer mom.  I haven’t had crazy mood swings and the kids don’t set me off like normal.  My fuse is much longer and I don’t feel nearly as anxious as normal

Leave a Reply

