Week 15, Pregnancy #2

Ok so I’m starting a new type of post for my pregnancy updates to hopefully keep me more accountable.  It’s amazing how I’ve fallen so far off the bandwagon with these posts and all I can say is that I’ve been so incredibly exhausted and all I want to do is sleep during my free time so today my husband actually couldn’t sleep and was up at 4:30am.  I realized at approximately 5:22am that he was no longer in bed and therefore I couldn’t sleep either.  I tossed and turned for about an hour before I ultimately gave up and decided to drag my lazy ass out of bed.  I remember I used to get up at 5am every. single. day. so actually getting up at 6:20am wasn’t as hard as I thought it was going to be, especially since that also means not having to get ready for work!  Maybe I can make a pattern out of this?  It also provides me some much needed computer time since the baby is still safe in his crib.  Oh, no, he’s not asleep.  He actually woke up around 4am too!  Thank goodness he just entertains himself in there until we decide to go get him.  I have no idea why he’s awake so early but it happens more often than not.  Speaking of the baby, once I get those photos uploaded, I’ll write up a 17 month post for the little guy!  I love how the only posts I’ve written in months either have to do with his monthly updates or this pregnancy.  Oh well, I suppose that’s where I am right now in life.  Let’s begin…

How far along?15 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: About 3 pounds.  I lost a few pounds early on and after the 12th week I think they are starting to come back on so I guess I’m right up to where I started before I got pregnant.
 Maternity clothes? Nope!
Stretch marks? None.  I didn’t get any with Emmett and I’m assuming it will be the same with this one.  My doctor told me that stretch marks are genetic.  My mom never got any so I don’t think I’ll get any either.  Also slow, steady weight gain and exercise help in this area too.  She told me all the creams in the world weren’t going to prevent me from getting stretch marks so unless I want to feel silkly smooth all day long I can save the money.
Best moment this week: Last night I actually saw my stomach popping around.  I felt tons of little tiny movements.  I don’t think it was gas or indigestion because my belly button was moving up and down.  It was crazy!
Miss anything: Um yeah.  The one thing I’m not allowed to have…Craft beer.  Wow do I ever miss it.  Since getting out of the first trimester I’ve been taking sips of Chad’s beers whenever I get the opportunity.  I wouldn’t trust myself to be alone with one of those puppies.  It’s the one thing I could seriously binge on right now.  I told Chad he better have a six pack waiting for me at the hospital.
Movement: Yes.  There really hasn’t been all that much this week.  I did however notice it a few weeks back, that feeling of popcorn bouncing around and every now and then I’ll notice it again but it’s been far and few between.
  Food cravings: Gross.  That’s what I have to say about food lately really the entire pregnancy.  At least I don’t start crying every time I know I have to eat.  I’d say cheese is still really high up on the list and I’ve also had little urges to eat sweet things here and there. 
Anything making you queasy or sick: Brushing my teeth and drinking too much liquid with a meal.  Also chocolate is still hit or miss.
Have you started to show yet: I’m actually really surprised that yes, I have.  My friends made a comment about my stomach on Tuesday and said “Oh my gosh!  You have a little bump!  I got defensive and said, “No, I just had a really big salad so that’s probably what you guys are seeing”.  Turns out I do have a bigger stomach than from when I started out.  I’ve also heard that you show sooner with the second and if that’s the case then yes, I’m showing!
  Gender: One sonographer said boy, the other said girl.  Geez.  What a headtrip!  It’s killing me and I think about this constantly.  I just want to know and be done with it already!
Labor Signs: This is a dumb question so early on.
  Belly Button in or out? In.
Wedding rings on or off? On.
Happy or Moody most of the time: Moody.  I think it’s getting better for for a while there I was wondering if there was such a thing as PRE-partum depression.
Looking forward to: My next appointment.  It will be next Friday on October 11.  It’s not a big appointment or anything but It will reassure me that things are still ok in there.  I’m really hoping they find a heartbeat this time since they haven’t the past two times.  I’ve been told my uterus is set pretty far back and that’s part of the reason they can’t even hear anything but it totally freaks me out when they put the doppler to my stomach and there is nothing but crickets in there!
So that sums up how the week leading up to 15 weeks has gone.  I’ve still felt very gaggy this week and when I run I seem to have developed some pain on my right lower side of my uterus.  As long as I don’t run every day it goes away within a day or two but it’s still very irritating.  I always dreamed I’d be a pregnant runner.  With Emmett I was terrified to run but still did it because it felt ok.  With this one it just hurts.  I don’t understand.  Maybe I’m running too much?  I’m thinking of decreasing my mileage and seeing if that makes a difference.  I already have noticed that running on a treadmill is easier on me than running outside on pavement so I try to keep it indoors as much as possible.  I am going to ask my doctor about this and see what she thinks.  I can’t say this week feels much different than last week because I’m still on my zofran and I still get gaggy every now and then.  I was at a Junior League even on Tuesday night and was driving home past my bedtime (9pm).  I gagged 3 times in the car and ran to the toilet when I got home.  So sick of this stage.  I’m hoping it goes away sooner rather than later. My energy levels are still pretty low.  I’m going to have to start keeping Emmett up later for his naps.  I have been putting him down around 11 or 11:30 every day but he seems to only take a cat nap if I do that.  It’s odd because he’s tired but then an hour later will be up and be up for the rest of the day.  I get stressed because I have NO idea how I’m going to run around after him for 6 hours until Chad gets home.  If we have play dates in the afternoon it’s not as big of a deal but the days when we don’t have much going on are really long when he doesn’t nap very long.  This makes it challenging for me to get anything done what so ever.
That about sums up week 15.  If you don’t hear from me before next Thursday I’m probably napping or chasing after a baby that won’t nap!  Fifteen week photo…
15 weeks pic2 15 weeks

 

Leave a Reply

