3-Day Weekend

I started this post on Tuesday I swear!  I have so many posts that have been started and not finished and I haven’t been on the blog for a while because I’ve been very busy trying to get my business up and running (more on that later) but I wanted to come back to our 3-day weekend because it was full of pictures and one of the best weekends I’ve had in a long time…

First and foremost, this past weekend would not have been possible without all the service men and women who have given their lives for this country.  A huge thank you to all those who have done this.

This past weekend was a weekend filled with fun events and summer activities.  Friday was a bit of a challenge in the baby boy department.  Emmett was kind of a mess and wouldn’t really take a nap nor was he a happy boy when he was up and playing so by 3:30pm when he was finally semi ready, it was time for me to make a choice to either meet up with my mom friends in the park for a long walk and play time or get E the much needed sleep he deserved.  I chose the first option and am so glad I did.  The walk was not only calming for Emmett but was amazing for me to be with friends who could commiserate.

21Afterwards E and I rushed home to get him some dinner and get ready for our next round of guests.  I headed to the grocery store before getting home to get ingredients for spinach and artichoke dip.  I quickly prepared the dip when we got home while Chad helped with feeding and bathing the boy.  After the boy was in bed (at like 6:30!), we sat and enjoyed a few beers on the patio before our friends showed up.  We were originally planning on meeting them out for happy hour, however, we have this kid and he goes to bed no later than 7.  So we improvised!  Thank god for flexible and willing friends 🙂  They came over around 7 and were here for several house.   We drank, we ate.  It was the perfect way to end an incredibly trying day.

Saturday I got up and had coffee in peace before the boy was up.  Chad got up with the boy so that I could go on my run alone.  I must say, without the jogging stroller my times have improved drastically.  It’s really incredibly but I do miss my little sidekick when I run alone.  It’s really weird to explain but I do love jogging with Emmett.  That being said, I also relish my jogs that I do alone now too.  When I got home we quickly got ready for another  year old birthday party.  Here are scenes from this party.  It was a HUGE success in my opinion!

1519 18 16 17We ate, we finger painted, we pushed the kids in the swings, we ate sand and rocks.  It was a great time!  And at almost 3 hours later the kids were all having meltdowns at around the same time so we said our goodbyes, headed home, gave E a quick bath and then headed up to my parents house.  My parents offered to take E for an overnighter so that Chad and I could have the night and next morning all to ourselves.  After we dropped him off, we headed to the bowling alley because believe it or not, we’ve never been bowling in the 5 years that we’ve known each other!

14 13 12It was a great deal too!  It was the holiday weekend special so we paid $22 total and got to play unlimited rounds for 2 hours.  We also split a pitcher of beer and just had a great time.  Chad played an amazing several games while I came up on the shorter end.  After a while we started to just make some of the games more interesting by playing left hand bowling (we both favor our right side) and mixed it up with just throwing the ball down the alley.

After bowling we decided to hit up a Greek place that we’d never tried before.  It was amazing!  I am sorry and sad to say I didn’t end up snapping any photos of our food.  We got two combo platters and split them.  One was full of meat and the other was a vegetarian dish.  They were both fresh and filling.  We took a TON home.  It was great and Emmett later enjoyed our leftovers.  Who knew, the kid has great taste and loves Greek food too!  Next time we’ll bring you along little boy 🙂  After dinner we weren’t ready to call it a night because let’s be honest, how many times in the last year have we had a night on the town all to ourselves!  We were initially going to try to catch a movie but there really hasn’t been much out that either of us are dying to see so we headed to a coffee shop that we’ve never tried.  It was lively and entertaining listening to all the conversations of 20-somethings all around us.  I have forgotten what it’s like to be out on a Saturday night past 9pm!  I got a latte and Chad got a decaf coffee and we split a slice of strawberry pie.  Everything was perfect.  The weather, atmosphere, the ambiance.  It was all great.  By 10pm we were spent so we headed home.  I think we fell asleep watching TV.  When we woke up it was so bizarre.  No kid, no dog.   I hoped out of bed and after Chad got up we both decided to go on separate runs.  Oddly enough we met up in the park and ended our runs together.  It was just like old times!  When we got home we got ready and headed out to brunch at a place I got Chad a gift card at for our anniversary.  It’s a bowling alley and we were originally going to go bowling there but we had heard that the place turns into a drug scene after hours so we decided on doing brunch there instead.  The brunch was amazing.

11 10We split an order of biscuits and gravy and then Chad got a burger and fries while I got the lobster omelet.  All three dishes were excellent and we’d definitely go back, at least for the food.  We took a look around after our meal and the bowling alley was definitely more for a bachelor party crowd.  It was a really cool place though.  Reminded me of something you’d find in Vegas.

After our amazing morning out, we headed up to my parents house to grab the boy.  I will say, it was so nice to have the past 24 hours to ourselves and be back in our old life again but I was so excited to see Emmett.  I just couldn’t imagine anything better than being with him.  He is just so much fun and really, my entire world.  I want a million more of him and if I can’t have a million more Emmett’s I want a million more just like him.  We stayed up at my folks for the majority of the day and ate dinner up there.  We headed home later that evening.

Monday was great because Chad had off!  We did our morning things and then headed to the Stapleton pool to check out the scene in our new neighborhood.  It was packed but a great place to people watch.  I only wish that Emmett wanted to be there.  We stayed as long as we could but he was super tired.  We went right around his nap time which was a major parent fail.  He lasted about 45 minutes before we had to throw in the towel.  I again wish I had taken a few pictures of him because it was pretty comical to see him freak out in the water.  WTF kid!?  You have to be a water bug like your mom and dad.  You really don’t have much of an option there.  We’ll keep trying.  Maybe after nap time next time.  We got home and tried time after time to get him to take a nap but he had fallen asleep pretty hard on the car ride home so it wasn’t working out as nicely as I had planned.  He finally went down around 4ish and I headed out to hot yoga with some girlfriends.  I had forgotten how incredible I feel when I’m done with a hot yoga session.  It’s not an intense workout by any means but I feel so refreshed afterwards and sleep like a rock the of one of those sessions.

All in all it was a perfect weekend.  And here it is, now Friday and we’re about to do it all over again.  Hopefully there will be lots and LOTS of this happening….

20

Leave a Reply

