Weekend Recap

This past weekend we celebrated my 2nd Mother’s Day.  How fun it is to be a mother.  A whole entire day devoted entirely to you!  I missed my mom this past weekend because she, along with my father, aunt and uncle, decided to book it to Mexico for the weekend.  I’ll forgive her this year but she better not try pulling that shi* again 🙂  Just kidding.  I’ve missed several Mother’s Days since leaving for college so I guess I kind of deserved this.  My brother and I were talking on Mother’s Day about how we kind of feel like we got out of it this year because we couldn’t even get a hold of our mother. Anyways back to our weekend.  It was a busy one.  We had boker on Friday night, which was eh.  We aren’t sure we are going to continue with this group or not.  I never read the books because, quite frankly, they aren’t really books I’m interested in and also, it’s pretty hard to find a babysitter on a Friday night.  But, it’s always nice to see the people and the food is out of this world good every time.  We split responsibilities and we were on cake duty.  I made this cake and it turned out amazingly well.  Oh my goodness, the richness of this cake was out of this world and I may make a 1/2 batch today just to have around at our house.  On Saturday morning, I woke up bright and early so I decided to take advantage of it and go for a run.  I took the dog for about 5 miles and then finished off another 2 by myself.  We had to bring my parents to the airport and we had to be at their house by 9:30am so I’m glad I got my run taken care of so I could free my day up.  After dropping my parents off we took E for his first hair cut.  It’s growing on me but at first I thought it looked dump and like he had just gotten a haircut.  Now that he’s had a few baths and I’ve been able to style it the way I like, I think it was a good move.  After E’s haircut we got him a quick nap then headed out for an afternoon birthday party.  We weren’t there for very long because it started to cloud over and get chilly out.

haircut 2Sunday was filled with Mother’s Day activities.  First up was the Mother’s Day 5k in City Park with the girls from my birth class.

mother5kWhile the mom’s and babies were running the race, the dad’s cooked brunch for us.  We had a wonderful spread of blueberry french toast casserole, hash brown casserole, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and fruit salad.  We also had bottom-less mimosas, bloody Marys and coffee.  It was a great day.  Chad and I didn’t do much the rest of the day.  I ended up finishing up my run and ran home and then we put the boy down for a nap.  I figured he’d sleep for hours but no such luck…I think he maybe slept for an hour???  And that was for the entire day!  Because it was Mother’s Day, Chad took the boy to Target.  Mama’s tire on the BOB popped at some point on Sunday so Chad was nice enough to fix it.  He took the boy and off they went.  It was a glorious hour for me.  I sat and read blogs, checked facebook, and really just relaxed.  It was really nice and I thanked my husband profusely for this time to myself.

I really couldn’t ask for a better day or baby.  This boy keeps me laughing all day long. I’ve said it 1,000 times, but he’s the light of my life and the sparkle of my eye (ok, too corny?).  This kid is just too much.

1

Leave a Reply

