One week ago today

I’ve been working on Emmett’s one year old post and have it just about finalized but still need to add photos.  So, in the mean time, I will leave you with a little scene from last weekend.

birthdayLast weekend today, my little friend Emmett turned ONE!  Can you believe it?  I hardly can but really I think back to what I was doing a year ago and it’s been a while.  I can honestly say that this past year has been the best year of my entire life.  I wake up every single morning bursting with joy because I know that just across the hall is my best friend and we get to play all. day. long.  People ask me quite often, “Isn’t being a mom the most challenging and hardest job you’ve ever had!?”  Um, maybe I’m missing something but being a mom has been just about the easiest and most enjoyable thing I’ve ever done.  It’s true, I’ve been given great raw material but that aside I just absolutely love every single day with him.  Even the “hard” days can’t even come close to comparison with some of my hardest days in the actual working world.  I understand that being a stay at home mom isn’t for everyone and I’ve said it too, I really didn’t know how I would take to it.  But this gig has surprised me in ways I never thought possible.  When you have your own child, everything changes.  I did babysit very frequently when I was in junior high and high school but this is so different.  I can’t explain why.  I just know that I could easily do this “job” for the rest of my life and die content.  I know that I won’t be able to do this forever so I’m trying to enjoy every single millisecond of this time with my best friend.  I would like to say I couldn’t be any happier than I am right now, but everyday, somehow, I get even happier.  Watching this boy grow and learn gives me so much gratification.  I know I am a privileged person to be able to stay at home with my baby and I will never ever take it for granted.

So…the next time someone thinks that stay at home moms eat bon bons all day, well, that’s not entirely true…I eat M&Ms, ice cream and what ever baked goods I’ve made that week 🙂 they work extremely hard with a little bit of enjoyment and a lot of fulfillment.

Leave a Reply

