11 months

I’m not even going to pretend that 11 months doesn’t sounds that much older but I’m taking a new perspective on my baby aging…Every month is better than the last.  This is a true statement.  I love watching him go through each and every stage.  So instead of sitting here telling you how old 11 months sounds, I’m not going to do that.  I’m going to write about what an amazing month we’ve had 🙂

At the beginning of the month Chad’s parent’s known on his side as memaw and paw paw, came to visit us!  Since they had just seen Emmett about 3 weeks prior to their visit, I don’t think they thought he’d changed too much.

I do think they had fun watching him explore his surroundings.  They came in on a Friday night and “watched” him while Chad and I went to Boker (book club and poker).  They played so hard on Friday before bedtime that he was out by 6:45pm which never happens.  They said he didn’t wake up once.

Sleeping…hmmm.  This month has been a bit rougher than past months.  Just when we thought we were out of the woods and I was bragging to all our friends about how much sleep we all get, Emmett decides to have about a week of horrid sleep patterns.  Ok, maybe it was more like 2 weeks.  Whichever it was, it was a rough patch.  Looking back, I’m pretty sure he was teething.  E’s teeth next to his top teeth seem to be coming in.  I think that was the majority of the problem.  He was also sick a few times too, running a fever of about 102 each time.  The fevers never really seemed to slow him down but they did disrupt his sleep patterns.  The one week that it was so bad, we had plans to go up to the mountains with our friends and actually had to cancel because E was so sick but also because he was waking up every 2 hours.  Thank god we canceled because no one in that house would have been happy!  E seems to be back to “normal” now but I’m not holding my breath.  Every morning that I wake up feeling refreshed I just thank the lord for another uninterrupted night sleep.  You never know when those could be taken away from you.

Eating is also going extremely well.  I think I’ve mentioned this in the past, but Emmett hasn’t met a food he won’t at least try.  He still hates eggs but I did get him to eat them finally.  Every time he swallowed the egg, he made a face and about gagged but it went down.  I do everything to those eggs.  I even douse them with cheese.  Nothing seems to be working.  Some other new foods we’ve tried are black beans, bread, scones, and some cinnamon toast crunch just because.  He loves to feed himself but he also loves it when others feed him with a spoon.  He’ll shovel food into his mouth then open his mouth wide for a bite of food off the spoon that someone else can feed to him.  Again, we don’t worry that he’s not getting enough nutrition!

Emmett is also finally starting to crawl like a normal child.  He still loves his army crawling and especially when he wants to go someplace, he plops down on his stomach and pulls himself along but he can also go quite a while on all fours.  It’s super cute to watch.  I never actually thought he’d crawl but he seems to be getting the hang of it.  It seems as though every time we go to a playgroup or the library where he’s able to observe other kids, he crawls that much more when we get home.  What ever is efficient!

Emmett has also started feeding the dog.  He gets great joy from watching her eat his leftovers.  Actually, I take that back.   They don’t need to be leftovers in order for him to enjoy feeding her.  He could care less how long the food has been sitting on his highchair tray.  He just loves seeing her eat period!  It’s a little annoying, a little cute.  He wastes food so that’s annoying but once he starts laughing, that’s when it’s cute.  It’s fun to see them becoming fast friends.  Sadie really could have done without Emmett in the beginning.  It was a rough transition needless to say.  I think she’s coming around though.  They have come to appreciate one another.  I think she’ll keep him 🙂

The child’s hair is out of control.  I don’t go places very often without a complete stranger commenting on how “awesome” it is.  Certain family members (yes, mom and Chad, I’m talking about you guys!) don’t think it’s so “awesome” but I just can’t bring myself to get it cut.  It’s even in his eyes now and there’s still something holding me back.  Maybe I’ll get it down before his first birthday party but it’s just so dang cute.  I would hate for someone to mess it up!

Emmett LOVES the park.  I decided a few weeks ago when I was out with some friends that he needed to experience the swing.  This picture was taken by his daddy on Friday but he just gets such a kick out of the swing.  We’ve taken him to the nearby park a few times and every time seems to bring out the best.

The kid just doesn’t stop smiling and rarely cries.  We thank God every day for him.  He has just brought us nothing but happiness in the past 11 months that we’ve known him and I can’t wait to see what the next month brings for us.

Happy 11 months little man!  You never cease to amaze us!  Life just doesn’t get any better than this!

Leave a Reply

