First “words”

I should probably be doing a much better job of documenting all this stuff but Emmett said his first words last week!  We had a VERY rough week with him waking up in the middle of the night and crying.  Really the only thing that would get him back to sleep after trying EVERYTHING we know to try was basically to feed him, rock him, put him down, let him cry, feed him AGAIN then put him to sleep.  It was very frustrating.  One of those nights, I believe it was Tuesday going into Wednesday, he started babbling!  His first string of babbling went something like this “mamamamamamam…naaananananan”.  He said MAMA!  Of course I smiled and let him continue this for a while until I don’t think we could handle it anymore and went in to do our nightly rituals.

Every day this baby gets more and more fun.  I absolutely love being able to watch this little boy learn and grow.  He is such a blessing.  I know I say that all the time but have really realized it and been so thankful in these past few days.  My heart goes out to all the people and victims affected by the CT shootings.  It sickens me to even think about it and yet I know I can’t block it out.  Some days I’m glued to the news and others I cry uncontrollably thinking about why we haven’t done more on trying to protect innocent people from violent acts carried out by guns.  It is just such a horrific tragedy.  I wish I could say more on this horrific event but I’m at a total loss of words.  I can’t even begin to comprehend what these parents are going through.  My thoughts and prayers are with the people of Newtown.  May God be with you now and always.

Leave a Reply

