E hangs out with other people and week 13!

Because I had to go back to work for 30 days, we had to find child care for those days.  Luckily we have amazing family members who have been so supportive and helpful so that I could do this.  If worse came to worse, Chad was going to take the month off but we really didn’t want to do that because he would have had to work without pay.  Who wants to do that?!  As I mentioned in week 12, it really wasn’t as hard as I thought it was going to be.  I have heard from other people that the first day back to work was the worst day of their lives with dropping the baby off at child care and what not.  I had zero issues.  Chad watched E for the first day and I also went back to work on a Friday so I think that also helped.  We decided to take E to the pool the weekend after my first day too.

This boy did GREAT!  He doesn’t look super pumped to be there but I assure you he had a great time.  We sat in the baby pool with him for about 20 min.  I think he started to get a little hungry after that so I fed him and we just sat in the shade for the remainder of the time we were there.

We also took E to Jazz at the park on Sunday to meet up with some friends.

So relaxed!  E had a great time sleeping while we enjoyed wine and conversation with great friends!  As you can see, he was busting out of his 0-3 month onesie so we had to retire it that night 😦  Sad day.  We called it an early night so that I could come home and get everything packed for work.  Working mamas must have everything very organized.  Here is a list of things I have to do in order to get ready for the next day:

-clean all breast pump accesories

-get bottle ready for whomever is going to be feeding him the next day

-clean bottles from the day before

-get breakfast made

-get lunch made

-get workout clothes ready

-get work clothes ready

-prepare coffee and set on delay so that I have freshly brewed coffee to wake up to

This all takes roughly an hour each night.  The first Friday I went back to work I did not go running in the morning.  I couldn’t see how I was going to get everything done but over the weekend I realized I had to get it done somehow and at lunch time it’s just too hot to run and actually come back to work looking someone presentable.  So, Monday was the trial run.  I woke up at 5am, pumped enough to relieve my boobs, got the dog run and pooped and fed, finished off my portion of the run to total about 5 miles, showered, put make up on and did my hair and got myself dressed, woke E up for a feeding and prepped bottles for the day.  I felt so accomplished by the time I sat down at work I felt like it was pointless to do anything even remotely productive the rest of the day!  This entire week my mom and Chad took turns watching E.  Monday Chad watched him which was nice because we didn’t have to prepare diaper bags or anything like that.  Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday my mom watched him so what we would do was she would meet me at work and we’d pass him and the dog off with all E’s essentials like play mats, swings, car seat, diaper bag, etc.  It was a lot easier than I thought it was going to be.

I was even able to leave work a bit early on some days to go up to my parents house to pick him up and be with my parents for dinner.  Work was also very low key because the guy I hired to take over while I was on maternity leave was still there and my co-worker (equal) who we hired right before I left was sick the whole week so she was out and I basically did whatever I felt like (aka, left early, took super long lunch breaks and grocery shopped like the good old days at this job).  So to wrap up week 13 I leave you with E’s latest trick.

He can be on his tummy for longer than 30 seconds without crying!  AND his head is stronger!  Go buddy!

And of course who could forget the infamous 3 month photo…

Thank you to my friend Julie for making these signs for us.  She got tired of looking at the trashy lined paper signs.

Leave a Reply

