Day 2 at Home…Waiting and Laboring.

Once we were released from the hospital (Thursday April 26, around 8am), I felt both saddened and angry with my body that all that work I was doing last night was all for not.  I felt like the girl who cried labor.  We had called our family members telling them we thought we were going to have a baby by morning and here it was, morning and no sign of a baby any time soon.  I think I felt the worst for Chad’s parents since they were over half way to CO and there was no baby waiting for them on the other end.

We were both starving from being up all night.  I had eaten some pita and hummus around 2am but that was the last time I had eaten anything.  Chad had pretty much made it all night without grabbing anything.  We decided to make a pit stop at Einsteins bagels.  We both got hearty bagel breakfast sandwiches with Turkey sausage, cheese and egg.  We went home and decided that since my contractions had subsided we should eat and then sleep for as long as possible.  We turned out some Live with Kelly and tired to sleep.  I think I may have shut my eyes and “slept” for about 20-30 minutes.  Chad on the other hand was able to sleep for about 2 hours.  When he woke up we decided to eat some lunch and then go for a looooong walk again to see if we couldn’t start moving things along again.  My contractions had picked up again but were only still about 10 minutes apart.  Every 10 minutes or so as we walked I’d have to lean on Chad and get through the minute long contraction.  It was a little odd walking to the park and contracting then walking IN the park and contracting.  I felt horrible.  Once we got home we tried again to labor at home.  When we were about a block away from home, I remember getting overwhelmingly hot and sweating profusely.  I got very hungry all of a sudden and felt as though I was going to faint.  We saw our neighbor Brent right before walking inside and told him the situation and said “this is what labor looks like!”.  We went inside and I immediately ran to the back bedroom and cranked up the air conditioner to cool off.  I then ate something and felt about 1000 times better.

I went and laid down again while still contracting every 10 minutes.  Chad informed me that his parents were going to buy us dinner and bring it over around 4pm.  We both got Salads from the Tavern around the corner.  I wasn’t the least bit hungry but felt for some reason that I needed a nice healthy dose of vegetables which later would turn into a terrible idea due to the roughage.  Chad’s parent’s dropped by and it was tough to keep a normal conversation going while contracting but they completely understood and thought I was ridiculous for even coming out and trying to visit with them but because the contractions were 10 minutes apart I knew that I could converse for a good 10 minutes with a one minute contraction and full on pain.  Chad’s parents were horribly tired as well since they drove all day so they ended up leaving around 5:30pm to head back to their hotel and wait for some more news from us.  My mom dropped by around 6pm and brought us cupcakes from Whole Foods 🙂  Our parents are incredibly thoughtful!  We visited with my mom for a bit and all I could remember thinking was when I would contract I wanted her to be quite.  She would talk to the dog and still try talking to Chad and I didn’t have the heart to tell her that was very distracting.  At one point she even was rubbing my back and tapping it!  That was not a great feeling!  She is so sweet.  All she wanted to do was help.  I didn’t know what to tell her to do.  She ended up staying for about an hour and then we asked her if maybe she wouldn’t mind taking the dog with her since we didn’t know what we were going to do with her if we had to go to the hospital again.  My mom was happy to take Sadie with her.  It was such a relief getting rid of the dog since she was a bit hard to deal with while trying to labor.

As night became closer, I started feeling more anxious as I knew that it would be another long night of restless sleep.  I did have some sleeping pills from the hospital (Ambien) but I refused to take it knowing that I wanted a birth as unmedicated as possible.  We tried turning the TV on again so that I could labor in bed and try to fall asleep only this night was different from the night before.  The contractions were so unbearable that there was no way I was going to be able to sleep.  Again, the contractions still were only between 6-10 minutes apart and were not consistent.  The pain was definitely increasing though.  I told Chad that I refused to go back to the hospital until my contractions were 5 minutes apart lasting for 1 minute each for at least one hour.  After several hours of unbearable contractions, we got up out of bed and I asked Chad if he would walk with me in the neighborhood.  This night was different than the last because it was much later and much cooler out.  I think we ended up leaving the house around 2:30am and walking several blocks for an hour.  The neighborhood was pretty busy!  It was amazing how many people were out at that hour.  We kept wondering if these people were drunk or laboring because both pretty much looked the same from an outsiders perspective.  Everytime I’d feel a contraction coming on I’d make sure that we were at least semi hidden and our of sight of people.  That was tough since so many people were out and about.  Finally I couldn’t handle being up anymore so we went back home and tried to lay down again.  For the rest of the night I contracted every 10ish minutes and didn’t sleep.  I think Chad was at least able to get some interrupted sleep.

Finally the sun started to come up and I couldn’t have been happier.  For some reason the sun to me symbolized another day of hope while night fall just symbolized another night of restless sleep.  Thank god for sunrises 🙂  I briefly wondered if today would be the day that we would meet our son…

Leave a Reply

