34 or 35 weeks depending on who you ask!

I’ve reached the point in pregnancy where I don’t have really any clue what week it is.  I’ve decided that if baby can hold on until April 10, I will be completely 100% ready to meet him after that.  He will be considered full term by all accounts.  That’s only 2.5 weeks away!  I’m so excited!  This picture was taken last weekend:

People keep telling me how small I look but I do have to be honest.  I’m trying extremely hard to keep up with my workouts and to eat right.  I think it totally helped that I had zero tolerance for anything sweet or sugary from weeks 5-24.  I’ve added a few things back in like some ice creams, cakes, some chocolate, but I prefer salty over sweet now if asked at any point in my day.  Foods just don’t quite taste the same as they did pre-pregnancy.  I still don’t reach for the coffee like I used to.  I’ve had a few coffees, maybe 5, since week 5 but that’s about it.  I had my first coffee back in January up in the mountains when I was away on vacation with Chad and my parents.  We were watching some wedding show on TLC and they were serving coffee and it looked good!  We dashed down to the nearest coffee house and got me a large decaf coffee.  It was pure bliss 🙂  That took care of it though.  I haven’t really had that urge since.

We had a doctor’s appointment on Tuesday.  They somehow came up with 33 weeks and 5 days on Tuesday but I’m know that I’m at least 34 weeks if not 35.  We had been counting from the last ultrasound and since baby B was measuring a week ahead, we changed the due date from May 1 to April 25 and that’s what I’ve been going off of.   He is still measuring right on track at the 50th percentile in height and weight.  SCORE!  I was actually pretty confident that I’d have at least an 8lb baby on my hands but when I asked my doctor she seemed to think he’d be somewhere in the 6lb range.  I was shocked.  I guess he’s going to take after his daddy.  She said my fundal measurements were right on track but to put peoples fears to rest about the smallness of my belly she said we could do an ultrasound the next time I come in.  So we have an ultrasound scheduled for April 2!  I can’t wait to see my tiny little baby boy again!  We may get a more accurate measurement of how long he is and what he weighs at that point.

We are well into our birth classes by now.  They started on February 7 and will end on April 24.  The first one due is April 14 in our class.  It will be fun to see if she makes it that far.  I think everyone hopes they will be early but so many people are later than they think.  This is why I’m preparing myself for a May baby.  We did feel some Braxton Hicks contractions last night which were completely bizarre.  Chad was feeling the baby and all of a sudden my entire stomach went hard.  He mentioned that he couldn’t feel any body part so I put my hand on my stomach and said “Oh my gosh!  I’m having a contraction!”.  He was worried at first but I assured him it’s very normal to feel these from here on out.  It wasn’t painful at all.  I had one more that I was aware of when I was in the shower.  It was so strange.  Again, baby must stay in there until April 10 for me to feel good about his growth and development!

Now onto other things which is why I started this blog in the first place…My exercise habits.  It’s been incredibly hard to keep myself motivated to exercise but somehow, every single day, I get it done.  Whether it’s just a few miles of walking or a full blown workout at the gym, it gets done.  It’s crazy that running was very painful for me after about 26 weeks.  I stopped for quite sometime because the recovery just wasn’t worth the 4 miles.  I don’t know what happened to me but one day I decided to forgo the outdoor running and run exclusively on a treadmill but shorten the mileage to only 2 miles at the end of a hard cycling session.  To my surprise I had zero pain when my run was done on a treadmill.  So I decided to stick with that.  Now my workouts usually consist of 2-3 mile runs on the treadmill and 20-45 min. of biking.  On the weekends I usually do the elliptical for about an hour and then walk the dog 2 miles or so.  This has seemed to be a pretty good mix.  I was weight training but just the thought of picking up a dumbbell makes me tired so I nixed that part of my workouts and am exclusively back to doing just cardio.  I’ve gained just over 20lbs depending on the day.  I hear that many women start losing weight after 36 weeks and I’m just hoping I’m one of those women 🙂  I really would love to stay right around the 20lb mark for the remainder of the pregnancy but am really not monitoring my food intake at all.  We’ll just see what my body decides to do!

Everyday I grow more and more in love with my son.  Each passing minute of everyday I think about him.  I’ll leave you with my current “in this world” love, my first child who I promise never to neglect once my son does make it into this world.

Leave a Reply

