9 week update

Today I’m at 10 weeks 1 day!  I’ve made it to double digits!  But first, let’s talk about how week 9 treated me.  I finished off week 9 on Monday night.  It was a rough, rough night.  We’ll start at the beginning of last week.  I was pretty excited to begin week 9.  Actually, every day that goes by I’m more excited that I’ve made it one more day.  I didn’t have any presentations last week so I was able to go home every single night and relax.  I even made it to kickball on Wednesday night!  We did end up telling our friends on the kickball team but neglected to tell them about the fact that we are having twins.  I think we are still be cautious and waiting until our 10 week u/s tomorrow to divulge that type of information.  Last week I experienced what I thought looked like a tiny tiny smear of blood.  Almost like what you would see if you cut yourself down there.  Of course I freaked out.  My heart completely stopped.   I whipped and whipped and whipped and went to the bathroom about 20 times in those next 2 hours just to see if it was coming from my cervix.  Nothing.  I’m going to chalk it up to me being crazy.  Let’s hope the u/s shows the same.  I’ve taken my medication very regularly and really don’t leave the house without it these days.  I was pretty good last week with few nights of extreme nausea however, the weekend was a different story.  I was able to get out and do the elliptical for 60 min. on Saturday but then felt pretty horrible after that and for the rest of the day.  Saturday I went in and out of nausea all day.  We met with a realtor out in an area we want to buy a house and I was ok throughout that.  Then we went to Panera and I got a grilled tomato and mozzarella sandwich and broccoli and cheese soup.  That hit the spot. When we got home I was SO dead and didn’t feel well.  I watched the Green Mile on TV while Chad fell asleep.  I was supposed to fall asleep but got so caught up in the movie that I couldn’t.  I cried my eyes out!  Talk about emotional!  I then ran a few errands for my mom.  Now, that was tough.  I did NOT feel well at all at this point.  Later we met up with my mom downtown for appetizers and dinner.   I was able to get down crackers and hummus and then some spin dip.  I ordered a dinner and took one bite then was finished.  Sad.  It was a great night but I was pooped when we got home around 10:30pm.

Sunday we slept until a little after 8am.  Ok, if you know us, especially me, this never happens.  It felt wonderful.  Even the dog cooperated.  We went to church with our friends.  I was ok throughout that service.  We ended up coming home and relaxing the rest of the day.  I was in and out of feeling bad.  I had to take my mom home in the middle of the afternoon and really didn’t feel too well all day.  I wanted to force myself to exercise so I went for a mile walk then RAN 4 miles!  They were slow miles but I did it!  I felt amazing afterwards.  I was sore up until yesterday but it was so worth it 🙂  I don’t think I’ll be able to run again though.  Running with twins isn’t a great idea.  I guess we’ll see tomorrow whether or not we have one or two in there still and that will also determine whether or not I can run throughout my pregnancy.  I will 100% give up running if that means we have twins in there.  I didn’t eat much for dinner that night as I did have terrible heartburn throughout my run but I did manage a turkey sandwich.

It’s been a little better in terms of trying to eat healthier.  For breakfast I’ve been consistently eating cereal with skim milk.  For snacks it’s been a sandwich of sorts, lunch has been whatever sounds good at that moment, and dinner has been a random mix but usually a mixed diet so I’m not eating the same thing every night.  Generally pretty healthy like turkey sandwiches, soup, veggie burgers, things like that.  I’m trying!  Last night I actually got a salad bar and veggie spring rolls at whole foods last night for dinner.

So there you have it…Week 9 summed up.  I’ll start giving a scale of things I’m feeling:

How I’m feeling: 1-10, I’m at about a 5 this week

What I’m craving: Protein

What I’m not craving: Sweets, sweet foods, cakes, ice cream, candy, coffee, gum, eggs…GROSS.

Today I’m wracking my brain for what I should eat.  I have narrowed it down….chipotle or a grilled chicken sandwich at wendy’s.  I think I’ll choose chipotle.

Leave a Reply

