Week 5!

We’ve made it to week 5.  It’s been exactly 5 weeks since my LMP (last monthly period).

This is how the doctor’s determine how far along you are.  I never knew this until I looked it up to follow, week by week, my pregnancy to get a gage of how I should be feeling and what I should expect in the coming weeks.  I thought I had my first bout of nausea this morning during my 7 mile run.  Turns out I was just starving.  Apparently I’m still supposed to be feeling pretty normal at this point which is a good thing because I feel great.  I still have tons of energy (but I always have), I don’t have morning sickness or nausea, I am not urinating more than I usually do and I never once spotted.  The only indication that I’m pregnant is that I have missed my period and that my pregnancy tests showed up very positive right away.  I took another one just to be sure this morning. Sure enough, the pregnant line turned up immediately, even before the control line and it’s DARK.  Good, body is still producing that pregnancy hormone.  I guess those bad symptoms don’t start up until week 6 which comes to us next Friday.  Next Friday we are going to Breckenridge with Chad’s family.  It should be interesting what happens to me.  I’ll either feel the same as I do now (which is awesome) or be vomiting and not be able to do anything all weekend.  Luckily we are planning on telling our parents before next weekend so it won’t come as a complete surprise if I do end up getting sick.

Tonight at the surprise party, it should be interesting.  I’m going to try to hold it together but one of my best friends will be there.  She has already assured me she will have wine ready for me so I can de-stress.  I love her for this.  I LOVE wine and I love getting a little tipsy.

I have no idea how I’m going to turn her down without her knowing something is up.  I’m not a big drinker so it’s not always odd when I turn down alcohol but for tonight’s even it might be.  Chad has suggested that I tell her I’m hungover from drinking too much last night but that feels odd seeing as how I NEVER drink too much on the weekdays.  And she knows we had been trying so she is going to know something is up.  I’m thinking of just taking the glass and pretending to drink it.  Don’t worry, no wine will pass these lips 🙂  I’ll figure something out.

I didn’t talk much to baby today.  I usually do talk to baby occasionally when I’m walking to the bathroom, in the car, or running.  I’m just elated that baby is growing.  Now if I could just stop taking those damn pregnancy tests to re-assure myself.

Leave a Reply

