On a high note

Yesterday I was feeling great so I went on a 6 miler (did that on Tuesday as well) in stead of my usual 5.  I have decided that pregnancy running is awesome!  I don’t worry anymore about time and I have slowed my pace down so it feels like I’m running on clouds now.  I used to push myself to the limits no matter what kind of run it was.  Now it’s nice to have an excuse not to push but to just enjoy the early morning quietness.  I love running without music.  It helps me focus in on all the different houses around me, the birds waking up, other people who are doing the exact same thing as me and so on.  I’m not sure how fun it will be to get back into competitive Lindsey after the baby is born.  It was a very busy morning.  I had to rush to look presentable today and still try and manage to make my usual breakfast of oatmeal and berries with greek yogurt.

Today was a big day!  I FINALLY was patient enough to go to the DMV and get my name officially changed on my license to my husbands last name.  I figured now is as good as any time to finally do this seeing as how in 9 short months we will have a little one and both parents should probably have the same last name to keep things simple.  But I’m not kidding you, every time I’ve been to the DMV it has been packed and when I pull out number 404, they are only on number 310.  Are all DMVs like this in every state or is it just Colorado!?  I don’t remember it being that bad even at lunch time when I lived in Kansas City!  Anyways, this morning I got there at 7:55am.  I was already a bit paranoid seeing as how I didn’t tell anyone at work that I was doing this.  I figured that my boss is on vacation today so she is really the only one who needs to know and since she was gone, screw it.  An hour later I finally walked out of there with a new license.  High five for me.  That is a huge weight taken off my chest.

Today has been very busy for me.  Actually, the last several days have all been great.  I’m usually so over this place (work) by the time I leave I feel like crying.  Lately it’s just been all uphill.  I am almost positive that most of it has to do with the pregnancy and knowing that I’m fertile.  I was so scared it was going to take us months of heartache before I got pregnant and that’s to say that I even could get pregnant.  So now that I don’t have to spend my time agonizing over the two week wait and simply wondering when it will ever be our turn, I’ve turned my attention elsewhere.  It’s funny, over the past week I’ve been on an emotional roller coaster.  I think for the most part I’m over the moon with the news of being pregnant but that tiny little problem (MTHFR) is always going to be at the back of my mind.  Last night I was in a pretty good mood when I got home and was really excited to see the new daddy-to-be.  When he walked in his two girls (the pup and myself) greeted him with kisses and hugs.  He returned the affection then sat down.  I immediately new something was wrong.  Well the tip off was him saying “I don’t feel right, I’m just upset”.  Ok, that was a pretty good indication that something wasn’t right.  I don’t need a sixth sense to listen to someone!  Anyways, we started talking and two things were going on with my husband: (1) the standard-work.  He tends to take his work seriously and highly values his work.  I love this about him, I just hate to see it get to him or upset him but the next one surprised me a little bit (2) the baby.  Panic didn’t overcome me by any means but I definitely wanted to know more about how he was feeling.  I guess me coming down and being panicked and upset on Tuesday sort of rubbed off on him.  He seemed really scared.  He wanted to let me know that while he was still excited and happy to have a baby, he too was very anxious about the whole thing.  So I played the role he did to me on Tuesday.  Talking through the whole thing made things better for sure.  I think we’re now both on the same page that we are not to worry about this until we know to worry.  It’s a waste of time and energy.  I know with all my heart that (1) this baby isn’t going anywhere and (2) it’s a healthy little sucker.   I just refuse to see it any other way at this point.

Leave a Reply

